Mayo for non-magicians

I discovered perhaps the most life-changing piece of equipment for my kitchen (aside from the crockpot, sharp knifes, and glass tupperware)…an immersion blender. If you’ve ever attempted to make your own homemade mayo, you understand my joy at the notion of a labor-less and quick mayo-making process. If you make it the old school way, this is how you have to do it:

  • Your ingredients must all be at room temperature; the egg, oil, and lemon juice want to mingle in a cozy embrace. In other words, if you don’t allow these ingredients to “mingle” they just stay separate, runny, and will most definitely not turn into mayo.
  • Now that you’ve already waited for hours, you need to wait some more after you place the egg and lemon juice in a blender or food processor. Oh, and they have to come to room temperature together, about 30-60 minutes. Add the dry mustard, salt, and  1/4 cup of the oil. Whirl until well mixed – about 20 to 30 seconds.
  • The remaining, and painstaking last bit of the process is to incorporate the remaining 1 cup of oil into the mixture. To do this, you must pour very slowly… the skinniest drizzle you can manage and still have movement in the oil. This takes about three minutes or so – or in other words, an eternity when you’re trying desperately not to pour too much at one time and also control your finger from slipping off the “pulse” button. I think I got a hand cramp when I did this the first time.
  • Then you’re supposed to hear this magic pitch change as the liquid starts to form the emulsion. It must be magic, because clearly I am no magician. Poof – mayonnaise.

I ended up with olive oil that had a slightly different color. Well shit.

After spending an embarrassing amount of time on Pinterest, I came across this. I saw the heavens open up, a beam of light cascade down upon my iPad and the angels cry, “YES! YOU WILL HAVE DELICIOUS MAYO THAT YOU WILL ACTUALLY BE ABLE TO CREATE!” Ok, maybe it wasn’t that magnificent of a revelation, but needless to say – it worked. I used my mayo to make some yummy tuna salad for tomorrow. Expect more recipes with varying mayo ingredients now that I’ve discovered the secret ingredient, the immersion blender. BOOM…or should I say POOF?

IMG_2288

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

