Prep yo’ food

I’ve got a confession to make. For the last 20 minutes I’ve been contemplating a) what to write, which leads me to b) should I post every day for the 30 day challenge? Obviously I’ve answered ‘b’, but am still working out ‘a’. Perhaps I could talk about my work-day, what I did right after I left, what I ate for lunch (eh hem tuna salad), or what I did when I got home, but I’m just not.

All I can say, is that the power of prepping your food over the weekend is perfect for days like today. It’s mid-week, work is busy, I went to bed late last night (my own fault), and am just plain not going to go into the kitchen and whip something up. These are the times that weakness start to creep in and you think, “it wouldn’t be that bad if I ordered pizza”. Thankfully my refrigerated lasagna came to the rescue. All success points back to the Saturday cook-up extravaganza that occurred.

I use Google calendar to set meal prep days and include the link to the recipe within the appointment. I don’t like to plan each meal for a specific day since I never know what I’m craving until I get to that juncture. For recipes that require over-night prep, I set SMS text messages on the invites to remind me to do (x) a day in advance. Let’s be honest, none of this would get done if I didn’t write it down. However nerdy and cliche this might sound, the mantra to live by here is “if you fail to prepare, you prepare to fail.” Prep yo’ food.

Standard

Leave a Reply

